Halifax Mooseheads Congratulations to 2013 Memorial Cup Winners


Senator Statement: Halifax Mooseheads Senator Jane Cordy May 28th, 2013

Hon. Jane Cordy: Honourable senators, I rise today to congratulate the Halifax Mooseheads Major Junior Hockey League team for their Memorial Cup victory on Sunday night against the Portland Winterhawks.

Some Hon. Senators: Hear, hear!

Senator Cordy: The Memorial Cup Championship capped off a stellar season for the Mooseheads, setting franchise records for the most wins, the fewest losses and the most goals scored in a season. Their strong play during the season carried over to the playoffs where they lost just once in 17 games to win the President's Cup as the champions of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, also known as "The Q."

This made them the Quebec league representatives in the Memorial Cup Championship. The Mooseheads brought the Memorial Cup to Halifax for the first time ever. By the way, the Memorial Cup has been won by the Quebec league teams for the past three seasons: the Saint John Sea Dogs in 2011, Shawinigan Cataractes in 2012 and the Mooseheads in 2013.

The score was 3-0 for the Mooseheads after the first period of the championship game, but was 3-2 after the second, leading to an exciting third period of hockey. With one minute and 16 seconds left to play, the score was 5-4. The Winterhawks had an empty net, and six attackers buzzing around the Halifax net. As great players do in key moments, Nathan MacKinnon scored his third goal of the game into the empty net with 22 seconds left on the clock to clinch the game and the Memorial Cup.

Nathan MacKinnon from Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, also home of Sidney Crosby, had a hat trick and two assists in the game, and was the MVP of the tournament.

The Mooseheads are an exceptional team, with stars like Nathan MacKinnon, Jonathan Drouin and Marty Frk — a line that would have to go down as one of the best forward lines in junior hockey history. The 17-year-old goalie, Zachary Fucale, played like a veteran.

Congratulations to all the Mooseheads players who have won the hearts of Nova Scotians. Congratulations to the owner, Bobby Smith; the general manager, Cam Russell — also from Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia; the coach, Dominique Ducharme; and all the Mooseheads organization that worked together to build a winning team.

Today Nova Scotians will be celebrating Mooseheads Day at the grand parade in Halifax. Thank you, Mooseheads, for a remarkable season of hockey, and congratulations on your Memorial Cup win.